CO2 Taxation

CO2 taxation is now well established across the European Union.

20 EU member states currently apply some form of CO2 tax to the registration and/or ownership of passenger cars, up from 17 in 2010. 

The countries are: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Germany, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Croatia, Ireland, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

The European automobile industry welcomes this trend towards CO2-related car taxation. However, it regrets the lack of uniformity in the implementation of these taxes. European auto makers therefore support taxation for passenger cars that is:

  • exclusively based on CO2 emissions;
  • technologically neutral;
  • linear; and
  • budget neutral.

More from this section