Dieter Zetsche elected ACEA President for 2016

Brussels, 8 December 2015 – Last week, the Board of Directors of the European Automobile Manufacturers' Association (ACEA) elected Dieter Zetsche, CEO of Daimler, as its President for 2016.

Speaking after his election, Dr Zetsche said: “I am particularly honoured to lead ACEA next year, as 2016 marks the association’s 25th anniversary. This will be an opportunity to build on the progress made by our industry over the past two and a half decades, and to tackle future innovation and challenges.”

“Key priorities in the coming years include decarbonising road transport, improving air quality, and paving the way for connected and autonomous vehicles – which are all an important part of our response to meeting tomorrow's transportation needs,” Zetsche explained.

ACEA will also continue to contribute constructively to the on-going process to update and strengthen testing requirements for exhaust pollutant as well as CO2 emissions.

Dr Zetsche will take over the reins from Carlos Ghosn, CEO of Renault Group.

ACEA’s President is elected for a year-long term, once renewable, from the CEOs, Presidents or Chairmen of its member companies.


Notes for editors

Dieter Zetsche, Chairman of the Board of Management of Daimler AG, Head of Mercedes-Benz Cars

Dieter Zetsche has been a member of the Board of Management of Daimler AG since 16 December 1998, and Chairman of the Board of Management of Daimler AG since 1 January 2006. He is also Head of Mercedes-Benz Cars Division.

Dr Zetsche was born in Istanbul, Turkey, on 5 May 1953. After attending school in Frankfurt and obtaining the Abitur (university entrance examination), he studied electrical engineering from 1971 to 1976 at the University of Karlsruhe and graduated as an engineer. He joined the research department of the then Daimler-Benz AG in 1976. Dr Zetsche completed a doctorate in engineering in 1982 at the University of Paderborn. 

About ACEA

ACEA represents the 15 Europe-based car, van, truck and bus manufacturers: BMW Group, DAF Trucks, Daimler, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, Ford of Europe, Hyundai Motor Europe, Iveco, Jaguar Land Rover, Opel Group, PSA Peugeot Citroën, Renault Group, Toyota Motor Europe, Volkswagen Group, Volvo Cars, Volvo Group. ACEA’s Board of Directors is made up of the CEOs of association’s member companies. More information can be found on or @ACEA_eu.


For more information, please contact Cara McLaughlin, Communications Director, [email protected], +32 2 738 73 45 or +32 485 88 66 47.